Welcome our interns: Jeanne, Karen and Margie

Miscellaneous

Jeanne and Davida small

My name is Jeanne.   I am from Québec and I have been working on organic farms for the past two years.
I have always been attracted to animals and the country since I was a child.   I look forward to learning how to work with draft horses and I hope some day to start a horse powered CSA farm of my own.   I love honeybees, canning food, and I am also a pretty good knitter.
karen and grey
My name is Karen, and I grew up outside of Lindsay, Ontario. Jessica and I have been friends
since kindergarten and I’ve spent my life on or around farms. I have years of horse experience riding
and also spent a couple years driving carriages and sleighs at Deerhurst Resort in Huntsville, Ontario. My
lovely mare Tess also lives here at Lunar Rhythm Gardens! I have a diploma in International Trade and
have spent the last three years or so living in Mexico and Costa Rica, teaching English in a kindergarten
and a grade school respectively. I even lived on a small farm in Costa Rica; it was so neat learning how
people farm in different parts of the world.

In addition to horses, I also enjoy snowboarding, surfing, reading, learning languages, and spending time
with my cool Mexican rescue dog, Salty. He will be around the garden this summer as well!

This year, I hope to learn as much as I can about everything I can. Not to mention getting to spend the
summer with one of my best and oldest friends! I also look forward to growing (and eating!) some
delicious food this season. Can’t wait to meet you all!

Margie waterin in greenhouse
My name is Margie.  I am a wife and mother of 2 wonderful kids, who all started out as CSA members of Jessica’s in 2011.  We have come such a long way since then, learning so much about the way our food is produced, and how important it is to choose local, fresh produce, eggs and meat.
I went to school at the University of Guelph, and have a Masters in Food Safety and Quality Assurance – and some might ask how this path lead me to work on a farm?  Well,  I had my children after I started my Masters, and at once it became important to me to raise my children to be environmentally aware, and to live a sustainable lifestyle.  When we moved to the Oshawa area in 2008, and I realized I would not be satisfied working in my area of training – that I needed to be doing something that made me feel good, helped the environment,  and made a statement about  how I choose to live my life.  So here I am – and I am so happy to be here!
My goal is to learn about farming, since I had no farming experience prior to this.  Hopefully, I will be able to put all that sciency stuff to use while I am here!  I have a passion for doing things from scratch (another reason why I ended up working here), including fermenting foods, cooking tasty and healthy meals, as well as sewing and knitting.  Looking forward to working with everyone and meeting all the CSA members this summer!